RSS

Windows Anniversary update broke my network and start menu

26 Sep

The case against Windows Anniversary update goes on (read the comments):

http://www.infoworld.com/article/3104389/microsoft-windows/the-case-against-windows-10-anniversary-update-grows.html

Two days ago, I was forced to receive the Windows Anniversary update like many other people. And like a lot of folks, I really need my computer at the point in time but the screen just asks me to wait as Windows is update… what can we do?

Fast forward, the update completed and machine reboot. Logged in to my machine and 3 major items did not work:

  • Start menu
    • There was no response when clicking on the Windows start button or the search button after the update. In other words, I have no view of my installed applications or access to launch any applications other than those already in the task bar. Of course, I could still run the applications directly via command prompt or the file explorer
  • Network
    • My network stopped working. When I looked into the network adapters, I could see my wireless and LAN adapter. I normally disable the wireless and use the LAN. However, I also had Hyper-V running and the virtualised adapters had disappeared. Those were the ones used for network connectivity.
    • I could not find the adapters in device manager and found that the update had removed Hyper-V without proper uninstallation obviously.
    • By removing Hyper-V, the virtualized adapters where also removed, leaving my physical adapters with no bindings to any protocols or services
    • By rechecking the protocols, e.g. IP4 and network services, network connectiviity came back.
  • Action center
    • When initially troubleshooting the network issue, I tried to turn on my wireless adapter to configure it for my network. Sadly, because the action center will not launch, I could not view the network available to connect my wireless adapter to. Of course, this can be done via command line, but what about the end-users?
    • I also cannot clear the notification icon on the tray as action center will not launch.

After readig a bit about all the problem, I decided to try creating a new profile to see if it will solve at least the start menu and action center issue. However, that did not work.

Luckily, Windows offered back out and recovery option which worked for me. So I managed to recovery my Windows and got back my previous version.

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 26, 2016 in General, Windows

 

Leave a Reply

 
