RSS

Type cover stopped working in Surface Pro 3

05 Feb

I love my Surface pro 3 and had been using it these past 1 year or so. Recently, for apparently, no reasons my type cover doesn’t work anymore. What I mean is that I was using it just hours before and opened my device and found that the keyboard no longer worked.

Of course, being the troubleshooter that I am, I did the following to determine the problem:

  • Cleaned all the lead contacts of the type cover and the device
  • Rebooted surface like a few times
  • Checked device manager for failed device or try to reinstall it (as found in forums)

Non of these worked for me. So I headed down to the nearest computer shop and asked the kind shop assistant to allow me to test my surface and promised that I will buy a type cover if indeed it was dead. I plugged my type cover to a the display surface pro 3 and it came back to life immediately! Connected my surface pro 3 to the shop’s type cover and nothing happened.

At that point in time, I wished it was the type cover because it would be so much easier just to get a replacement than having to restore from factory or send my surface for repairs.

As per (almost) every Microsoft instruction on troubleshooting OS, they recommend a clean installation or a factory restore to troubleshoot the issue. So I backed up my files and did a factory restore via the backup and restore menu. After the OS came up, I still had the same problem.

At this point, the only option was to send the surface to Microsoft for repairs. Unfortunately, they don’t repair surface and it being out of warranty period, I had to fork out some SGD $500 to get a replacement! Its really not worth replacing the surface at this price!

I decide to try recover the device again, but this time with a hard reset. That is, shutdown the device, press and hold both the volume down and power button until you see the logo and release the volume button. Strangely enough, when the device went into the recovery mode, the mouse and keyboard started working again! I exited the program and booted up surface into the regular OS and type cover was working again!

A few days later, the same thing happened again and this time, I just hard reset it into recovery mode, confirm type cover was working again and exit the program. Looks like something funky is going on with the BIOS or firmware of Surface Pro 3, but luckily, this one resolved my problem and I hope it helps yours too.

 

 
1 Comment

Posted by on February 5, 2016 in General

 

One response to “Type cover stopped working in Surface Pro 3

  1. Nick Popa

    February 23, 2016 at 12:59 pm

    My Surface Pro 3 just did the same thing for the second time. The first time it happened, I updated the drivers with no luck. Then out of deparation, I attached a friends Surface Book keyboard to my Surface Pro 3 and it started working after a hardware check and appeared to load drivers. So I plugged my keyboard cove back on it it has worked ever since. Until today. Hopefully, he will be in the office tomorrow and I will see if it works again. I just scanned it for outdated drivers and reinstalled four, but that did not seem to fix it. The softkey board works though.

     

Leave a Reply

 
