RSS

Ramdisk device creation failed error after changing memory size on VM

19 Oct

The other day I was performing a routine tasks. I increased the memory for one of my virtual vCenter machines, running Windows 20008R2, from 16 GB to 26 GB. After making that change, I boot up the machine and it immediately halted with the dreaded message

Ramdisk device creation failed due to insufficient memory

This is a really routine change and so it doesn’t makes any sense why the machine would act up? I checked on the internet for some solutions and nothing seemed to help. So I changed the size back to 16, rebooted and still the same error appear. When I went back to look at the memory settings again, I realized that during the initial change, the size had changed from GB to MB!

What a schoolboy mistake to make! But then again it is a reminder to us all that when something fails after you made a change, it is most likely that change that caused the problem you need to go back to basics and forget about your assumptions to get to the bottom of it.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 19, 2015 in vmware, Windows

 

Leave a Reply

 
