RSS

Using command line to configure HP Proliant arrays

17 Oct

One of the things we needed to do when deploying a server is that we need to setup the partitions correctly before we deploy it. Of course, we could always load up the smart start utility and perform the RAID configuration. But when you are doing remote deployment, that is, someone in London racked and powered up the server and you deploy it, it not always fun to load the ISO CD image, mostly because of the synchronization of the stupid mouse cursor over the WAN in some locations. And even in locations where the WAN is good, getting the cursor to go where you want to with the smart start it no fun. The other point is also it takes time for Smart Start to run.

So what we did was to include the command line equivalent of the array configuration called hpacucli.exe (you can download this from HP) into our deployment image. We can then launch this from the command prompt after its booted up in WinPE.

In our configuration our standard is always RAID 1 with 2 x HDD, 50% C:, the rest D: and we only need to configure one partition (the first partition).

Type the command “hpacucli ctrl all show config”, and take note of the size, disk description and slot number. You should see a result like this.

Smart Array P400 in Slot 1 (sn: xxxxxxxx)

array A (SAS, Unused Space: 0 MB)

logicaldrive 1 (36.0 GB, RAID 1+0, OK)
logicaldrive 2 (32.3 GB, RAID 1+0, OK)

physicaldrive 2I:1:1 (port 2I:box 1:bay 1, SAS, 72 GB, OK)
physicaldrive 2I:1:2 (port 2I:box 1:bay 2, SAS, 72 GB, OK)

The above results actually shows that I have already configured RAID partitions (okay this is reuse kit), so I want to repartition it.

So I issue the following commands to destroy any existing partitions and redo with only 1 partition. Note the size=36000 will not give me exact 36 GB, since 36 GB is not really 36000 kbytes. If you want to find out the exact number, I suggest you do a display on an existing server of the same configuration to find the size to put.

hpacucli controller slot=1 logicaldrive all delete forced
hpacucli ctrl slot=1 create type=LD drives=2I:1:1,2I:1:2 raid=1 size=36000
hpacucli ctrl slot=1 create type=LD drives=2I:1:1,2I:1:2 raid=1 size=Max
hpacucli rescan
hpacucli ctrl all show config

Hope this helps some of you.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on October 17, 2009 in Windows, Windows CMD

 

Tags:

4 responses to “Using command line to configure HP Proliant arrays

  1. Graeme McClinton

    February 17, 2011 at 8:11 am

    Hi

    How did you go about integrating hpacucli into WinPE? I have copied the files that the hpacucli installer installs, and that doesn’t work. I just get the error “The system cannot execute the specified program”.

    So I thought required dlls might be missing. I ran dependency walker on hpacucli, and it needs a lot of dlls. Some gui ones as well, which surprised me.

    I copied as many missing ones as I could find into windows\system32 on PE, still no go. Do they need to be registered?

    WinPE n00b here! Using 32-bit PE 2.0 from WAIK

     
    • saltwetfish

      March 8, 2011 at 8:02 am

      Hey Graeme, talked to my deployment guys and they said nothing special was required. They just copied the bin folder into a network share, when booted up in WinPE, just map to that share and they could use the acucli command.

       
  2. saltwetfish

    February 23, 2011 at 8:50 am

    Graeme,

    Not sure why you would have this issue. All we did was to copy the entire BIN folder (exe, dll and manifest) and we could run the exe without any issues. I did not need to register them neither. Let me check with my team mates on this.

     
  3. Juan Alonso

    November 7, 2012 at 2:43 am

    Hey Graeme,try using winpe 32 bits. this worked for me.

     

Leave a Reply

 
