RSS

WinAdm: Disabling security settings information bar in IE7

14 May

Recently, I decided to upgrade my office’s XP machine’s Internet explorer from version 6 to verion 7 so as to that advantage of tabbed browsing. I am not a fan of IE7 and have been using Firefox mainly, but a lot of our firm’s site only runs on IE (dumb programming practice!) and so I still have to open multiple windows on my desktop.

The first time I fired up IE7, I am faced with the dreaded security settings information bar. And every new window or tab that I create the damn information bar keeps popping up. I cannot blame Microsoft really, it just too many stupid Internet users out there constantly compromising their own machine’s security and those of others (by being a zombie).

Anyway, I thought disabling the information bar would be a common enough complain to provide a solution. Sure enough, google find many complains about this issue, but almost none of those actually provide the correct solution to disable the security settings warning information bar.

Sure, if you fire up group policy editor and checked off “Turn off the security check feature“, this will work.. IF the admin template is loaded at all!

So what can you do if your group policy editor don’t have those values? Google offers no solutions…

So I looked to the IE admin template downloaded from Microsoft and checked out the values in the registry settings. You need to setup two values in –>

HKCU\Software\Policies\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Security

Note: create the “Security” key if it does not exist

Create these two DWORD and set them as 1

  • DisableFixSecuritySettings
  • DisableSecuritySettingsCheck

Closed my IE7 and fired it up again… hey Presto! The security settings information bar is gone FOREVER!

 
3 Comments

Posted by on May 14, 2008 in Windows

 

3 responses to “WinAdm: Disabling security settings information bar in IE7

  1. Jonathan

    July 29, 2008 at 2:42 pm

    Hi,

    Is this configuration works on Vista as well?
    I’m trying to get rid of the popup about the protected mode.
    I need to disable it for the Intranet section.

    I would also like to disable the warning in the information bar.

    thanks for any advice
    Jonathan

     
  2. saltwetfish

    July 29, 2008 at 3:52 pm

    Hi Jonathon,

    I am not exactly sure what you are talking about, perhaps if you can provide some screenshot links?

    Could you not set the security on your intranet section to low and turn of protection mode? Or alternatively, you could set the sites you want as trusted sites which has the lowest security.

    sorry if I am of no help

     
  3. Jonathan

    July 30, 2008 at 5:21 pm

    Hi,

    Thanks for the answer. Unfortunatly, setting the security to Low isn’t enough. Same for trusted sites.
    Here’s a link to the image

    Watch out for popups… don’t know better site to host images…

     

Leave a Reply

 
