RSS

MS Excel showing wrong user locking file

03 Jan

Occasionally, I will receive trouble tickets from the helpdesk that some user ID is locking an excel file, but either that user does not have that XLS file opened or the user ID has been disabled long ago. Occassionally, I get this coming my way too. My account is being shown (wrong) as the one locking the XLS file and the user can only open it in READ-ONLY mode. Most of these files are new to me and there are no reasons for me to open them in the first place!

Apparently, MS Excel would sometimes wrongly report the user ID when a file is being locked. The best way to know who actually locked that file is to look for the open files in your compmgmt.msc and see who has read+write access to that file.

Here is an interesting discussion on it. According to this, the name reported is from the applicaton options, but why would my ID appear on someone else’s computer (I will need to use that computer’s excel for my name to appear, right?) in another country, although we are in the same domain.

If anyone has a clue please let me know.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 3, 2007 in Windows

 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

 
